If you are interested in joining LIFE, please contact us. There is a membership form available for download on our home page. A $40 annual fee is required for membership, which pays for administrative costs.
Yes! The State of Michigan allows parents to homeschool their children. Parents who are teaching their own children at home under the homeschool statute are required to use an organized educational program covering the subject areas of reading, spelling, mathematics, science, history, civics, literature, writing, and English grammar. The statute does not require parents to notify local government or education authorities that they are homeschooling. The statute specifically notes that parents are authorized to give home instruction. Please refer to Home School Legal Defense Association's Website for more information.
Yes! Children are unique and all learn individually. Homeschooling may be the best option to help him or her to succeed educationally. You are the only expert on your child. Several of our families homeschool their special needs children. You will not be alone.
Each family is unique, each child an individual, therefore each homeschool is unique. Parents provide instruction in subjects using curriculum and tools. The time it takes to "do school" varies by the child, curriculum and grade. There are many curriculum on the market. The key is finding the style best suited to your homeschool.
Homeschool students are involved in many forms of social interactions. Extra-curricular activities such as youth groups, scouts, sunday school, music/dance classes, co-op classes, and many more provide ample opportunities for social interaction. We believe that socialization is best achieved by providing our children opportunities to interact with all ages. LIFE provides field trips and activities along with co-op classes to provide interaction with all ages including adults. We are not limited to a small peer group for interaction.
When your teen is ready to begin the process to get his/her license you will need to reach out to local 3rd Party Driving School. Michigan's Graduated Driving Program allows students 14 years and 8 months to enroill in classes, usually held at local high schools.
Segment 1 is a 3 week course of 24 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind the wheel training. Upon completion of this course, students take their written examination and upon passing are able to go to Secretary of State and obtain a permit.
Segment 2 is a three day course of 6 hours, that prepares students with final instruction before their on the road examination.
Students must drive with parents for 50 hours before taking the on the road test.
Cost of the programs vary by school and are held regularly through the school year.
The link below will take you to the SOS website where more information is available.
We can not list every frequently asked question. Feel free to use the "contact us" frequently asked questions page for more information.
Copyright © 2020 L.I.F.E. - All Rights Reserved.